Reading Resolutions

Hello!

I had planned on posting this last week, but life got in the way so here we are on a Sunday 🙂

Today I’m going to share my Reading Resolutions for 2017 and what ‘goals’ I had for 2016 and what I completed or didn’t complete!

In 2016 I read over 185 books (according to Goodreads). I had wanted to read about 150 so I completed that goal. I did not finish 4 books – which I don’t think is that bad at all! When I was younger I felt that I “had to finish” a book if I started it. I am definitely OVER that feeling, thank goodness. Sometimes I will stop reading something because I’m not into it, or it’s just not my taste, etc. I do try to pick up some of them later on – in 2016 I did not finish Winger by Andrew Smith, and I think I will try to read that again at some point.

As far as different genres of what I read – it was all over! I did read a few graphic novels last year, which definitely helped boost my number of books read since they are generally very short and easy to fly through. But overall, I liked what I read. I read some AMAZING books, some eh books and only a couple OMG I hate this books.

For 2017 I am trying to read things that either scare me, or have on my Goodreads TBR for too long! I am also a victim of starting series and not finishing them (its sad when I think of how many series I have only read book 1). I want to read things that are outside my comfort zone. I want to read what everyone else is talking about. I also want to read what no one has ever mentioned before. I want to read more diversely, both in characters and authors. I want re-read some classics and catch up and read those books “you should have read” hahah.

I definitely have big plans for 2017! In my personal life, I will be starting my Master’s degree this year (probably in the summer) so I know that will affect my reading stats as well. And, I’m ok with that. I feel if the quality is good, quantity can take a back seat.

So I pose this question, if anyone is reading this haha – what are your 2017 Reading Resolutions? Do you agree with what I’m thinking? Disagree? What books do you feel you need to get to this year?

I can’t wait to see what everyone thinks!

Goodreads

Currently reading – Truthwitch by Susan Dennard.

Leave a Reply

